Back home, and back reading too

I have been back in London for exactly a week, after an arduous journey home. A 14 hour flight from Sydney to Abu Dhabi, followed by a 7 hour flight from Abu Dhabi to London. I now have to wait another two weeks until our next flight, when me and my fiancée will go on an Italian adventure.

It is good to be back, I feel like I am myself once more. Reading has become enjoyable again. I am currently reading Simon Schama’s book An Embarrassment of Riches: An Interpretation of Dutch Culture in the Golden Age,  which was on my reading list for 2016. It has been, so far, a magnificent effort at explaining some many aspects of Dutch culture and history. These have included – an obsession with the Old Testament, the importance of beached whales and a love for tea.

Schama recounts how one man, Cornelis Bontekoe, advocated drinking at least eight to ten cups a day, a man after my own heart. The importance of tea drinking was also put into verse;

‘Tea that helps our head and heart

Tea medicates most every part

Tea rejuvenates the very old

Tea warms the piss of those who’re cold’

Beautiful words, worthy of Wordsworth.

 

Leave a Reply

